PULLMAN, Wash. – Twenty-five Washington State University students at Pullman, Tri-Cities and Vancouver have received $1,000 awards for 2016-17 from the Office of Undergraduate Research for scholarly and creative projects.

Results of research by students and faculty mentors will be displayed at the annual Showcase for Undergraduate Research and Creative Activities (SURCA) in March.

Students seeking undergraduate research awards for fall 2017 can apply on the Office of Undergraduate Research website until Feb. 1. For more information 28126684276_17f9a34439_zabout undergraduate research, visit https://undergraduateresearch.wsu.edu/.

“Supporting undergraduates in their research aligns with our land-grant university’s key emphases,” said Shelley Pressley, director of the office. “We are fortunate to have generous alumni and friends whose gifts have enhanced the academic experience of hundreds of students.”

The Scott and Linda Carson Undergraduate Research Endowed Excellence Fund was established by these alumni in 2013. The Auvil Scholars Fellowship began in 2006 with a gift from the estates of Grady and Lillie Auvil, Wenatchee tree-fruit entrepreneurs.

Carson Fellows for 2016-17
Holly Lane, organic agriculture systems and agricultural biotechnology major, mentored by Michael Neff
Brett Merritt, mechanical engineering at WSU Vancouver, Hua Tan

Auvil Fellows for 2016-17
Madison Armstrong, a biology major mentored by Mark Dybdahl
Sierra Bishop, chemistry and material science engineering, Cliff Berkman
Andrew Cannon, physics, Jeffrey McMahon
Grace Carrell, microbiology, Alan Goodman

Zachary Croft, physics, Jeffery McMahon
Casandra Evans, mechanical engineering, Jacob Leachman
Joseph Hall, bioengineering, David Lin
Zachary Howard, genetics and cell biology, Alan Goodman

Ashley Huynh, biology and Spanish, Omar Cornejo
Brennan Hyden, agricultural biotechnology, Amit Dhingra
Estifanos Kassa, microbiology, Rey Carabeo
Elizabeth Magill, zoology, William Snyder

Marina Martin, biochemistry pre-medicine, Alan Goodman
Jonathan Moore, materials science and engineering, Michael Kessler
Lysandra Perez, psychology, Monica Johnson
Elizabeth Rice-Reynolds, genetics and cell biology, Michael Griswold

Mia Ryckman, biology, Carrie Cuttler
Seth Schneider, genetics and cell biology, Anthony Nicola
Allegra Sundstrom, biology, Joanna Kelley
Mitchel Wagner, biological sciences, Jim Cooper

James Whitbread, mathematics, Shiv Karunakaran
Essence White, zoology pre-veterinary medicine, Erica Crespi
Heather Young, animal sciences and Spanish, Amber Adams-Progar