Diversity and Inclusion Council

Respected and Valued

As outlined by Chancellor Moo-Young the purpose of the Diversity and Inclusion Council is to assess, advocate, promote, and recommend programs and resources that help WSU Tri-Cities achieve the following objectives:

  • Creating a sense of place
  • Creating spaces
  • Making everyone feel included
  • Connecting with the Tri-Cities community to be a global nexus
  • Creating a sense of scholars

The mission of the Diversity and Inclusion Council is to promote an inclusive environment where diversity is respected and valued.

The Diversity and Inclusion Council will:

  • Conduct a strategic planning process that outlines at least 5 major goals for a multi-year strategic plan
  • Conduct a comprehensive inventory of current activities and services at WSU Tri-Cities
  • Create an infrastructure that promotes diversity and inclusion activities at WSU Tri-Cities and the community
  • Identify and disseminate best practices to the WSU Tri-Cities community

WSU Tri-Cities view diversity as the following:

  • All the ways people are unlike and alike—the differences and similarities in age, gender, race, religion, ethnicity, sexual orientation, capabilities, socioeconomic background and all the other human dimensions that make us unique.
  • The mosaic of people who bring a variety of backgrounds, styles, perspectives, values, abilities, and beliefs as assets to the groups and organizations with which they interact on campus and beyond.
  • Diversity pertains to everybody.

Eric Johnson, Chair

Associate Professor, Teaching & Learning
509-372-7304
West 207W
ejj@tricity.wsu.edu

Diversity and Inclusion Council Members

Karina Barajas

Assistant to the Chief of Staff and Operations
509-372-7208
East 229
karina.barajas@tricity.wsu.edu

Jesus Bravo

Assistant Professor, College of Business
509-372-7331
West 207J
jesus.bravo@tricity.wsu.edu

Marisela Garza

Advancement and Regional Development
509-372-
East 239
marisela.garza@tricity.wsu.edu

Harvey Gover

Assistant Campus Librarian
509-372-7204
CIC 201AF
hgover@tricity.wsu.edu

Lindsay Lightner

College of Education, Coordinator
West 207M
509-372-7366
llightner@tricity.wsu.edu

Jessica Mejia

Human Resources Analyst
East 244
509-372-7418
jessica.c.mejia@tricity.wsu.edu

Cherish Tijerina Pearson

Disability Services Coodinator
West 269J
509-372-7352
ctijerina@tricity.wsu.edu

Contact Us

Do you have questions or feedback for the Diversity and Inclusion Council? We want to hear from you.

Your Name (required)

Your Email (required)

Subject: