Faculty Teaching Award

Outstanding Teaching Award

***Nominations for 2018 are now closed. Nominees and winners were announced at the Faculty Retreat on Friday, August 17th***

Nominations are now open for the 2018 WSU Tri-Cities Outstanding Teaching Award. This award is being sponsored by the Office of Academic Affairs. The award is designed to recognize the outstanding achievements in teaching of WSU Tri-Cities faculty who have demonstrated excellence in instruction.

We invite you to nominate a colleague that you believe exemplifies outstanding achievement in instruction. Nominations are open until Friday, March 2. All finalists will be honored at our fall faculty retreat, where the winning recipients from each category will be announced.


Nominations are being accepted for the category of full-time faculty and part-time faculty for each academic area. Self-nominations are acceptable.


All members of the faculty appointed at WSU in the Tri-Cities and with a teaching assignment in AY 2018 are eligible for the award.

Submit Nominations

Nominations are welcome from WSU Tri-Cities faculty, staff, administrators, students, and alumni, and should be submitted to the Director of their respective academic area. Nominators are asked to provide the nominee’s name and a brief narrative stating why the nominee is deserving of the award.

Academic Area Director E-Mail Address
BSEL Manuel Garcia-Perez mgarcia-perez@wsu.edu
Business Robert Harrington rharrington@wsu.edu
Education Judy Morrison jamorrison@wsu.edu
Engineering & Applied Sciences Scott Hudson scott.hudson@wsu.edu
Liberal & Fine Arts Paul Strand pstrand@wsu.edu
Math & Natural Sciences Allan Felsot afelsot@wsu.edu
Nursing Louise Kaplan kaplanla@wsu.edu
V&E Thomas Henick-Kling thk@wsu.edu


Following review of the nominees submitted, each academic area will select one finalist in each category and submit those names to the Office of Academic Affairs. Finalists will be contacted by the Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs and asked to submit contact information of references.

2018 Awardees
photo of Elsa Silva Lopez
Elsa Silva LopezAssistant Professor (Career Track), Department of ChemistryEast 132509-372-7490Full-time faculty award recipient.
photo of Sarah Newcomer
Sarah NewcomerAssociate Professor, Teaching & LearningFloyd 207Y509-372-7170Full-time faculty award recipient.

Jodi Rosso

Part-time faculty award recipient.